​​​State Library and Archives Trust​

The State Library and Archives Trust was established by the Libraries Act 1984 to administer any property acquired by the trust through gift, bequest or device for the advancement of library and/or archives knowledge in Tasmania.

The trust awards grants scholarships aimed at assisting the professional development of librarians​, archivists, and library and archives workers. For further information please email: secretary.slat@education.tas.gov.au​

​Sir John Morris Memorial Trust Fund

​Offers grants to workers in library, archives, literacy support services and related fields in Tasmania. It supports

  • ​​research work in library, archives and related fields
  • lecture tours, conferences, workshops or seminars likely to advance knowledge in library, archives and related fields in Tasmania
  • exchange schemes for workers in relevant areas.
The State Library and Archives Trust considers grant applications in May and November each year. The 2017-18 approved budget has been fully expended. Further aplications will only be supported if they are considered to be a high priority.

Members of the State Library and Archives Trust

  • Liz Jack (Director, LINC Tasmania)
  • Ms Mary Bent - Chairperson (and Chairperson of the  Tasmanian Library Advisory Board)
  • Ms Catherine Saunders​ (Ministerial Appointee)
  • Mr Ross Latham (State Archivist)
  • Ms Gaylene Cunningham (Office of Public Trustee)