​​​Placing holds

​​​​Introduction​

This guide includes:

Holds can also be placed when searching or from My Lists​. To manage your holds, including cancelling, changing pickup location, suspending and unsuspending, log in to My Library

​​​​Placing a hold on a search result (single title)

  • Search the catalogue for an item you want to place a hold on
  • Click on its Place Hold button (1) :

 

  • You will be prompted to login if not already logged in
  • Check that the Pickup Location details are correct. Use the drop-down menu to change the Pickup Location (2). Your pickup location default can be changed in My Library - see My Library help.

 

  • Click on the Place Hold(s) button (3)
  • The system will tell you if the hold was successfully placed or not​. If unsuccessful, a message will indicate you are unable to check out the item. This usually indicates a reference title.​

​​​Pla​cing a hold on multiple titles​

If you wish to place holds on more than 1 title displaying on the search result screen:

  • S​elect the title/s you want to place holds on
  • Go to the Select an Action drop-down menu
  • Select Place Hold(s) (4)

 

  • You will be prompted to login if not already logged in
  • Check that the Pickup Location details are correct. Your pickup location default can be changed in My Library - see My Library help.


  • Click on Place Hold(s)
  • The system will tell you if the hold was successfully (5) placed or not (6). The unsuccessful message usually indicates a reference title.


​​​Placing​ a hold from the full detail display page

  • Find a title you want to place a hold on
  • Click on the title or the image to see the full details
  • A window will open containing the details of the item
  • Click on Place Hold(s) (7) :

  • You will be prompted to login if not already logged in

  • Check that the Pickup Location details are correct. Your pickup location default can be changed in My Library - see My Library help.
  • Click on Place Hold(s)
  • The system will tell you if the hold was successfully placed or not. If unsuccessful, a message will indicate you are unable to check out the item. This usually indicates a reference title​.
  • Close the Details window by clicking X ​​to get back to the search results ​​